Sabina Maharjan is Miss Jyapu 2012

Note: Miss Jyapu was held in June. We had missed writing about it at that time. How about, better late than never!

First Miss Jyapu, held on June 17, 2012 (Jestha 27, 2069 BS) had selected Sabina Maharjan as the Miss Jyapu 2012. The event held in Nepal Academy, Kamaladi was also broadcasted live in Himalaya TV. Miss Jyapu was organized by Naasa Mandal, Thahity to help the participants in their personal development.


In addition to the Miss Jyapu 2012 title, Sabina Maharjan was also awarded Miss Talent title. The first runner-up Runa Maharjan was also selected for Miss Personality and Miss Best Dress titles. The second runner-up was Sabina Maharjan. The full list of title winners is as follows:

  • Miss Jyapu 2012 Sabina Maharjan (Nardevi resident)
  • 1st Runner up Runa Maharjan (also, Miss Personality and Miss Best Dress)
  • 2nd Runner up Sabina Maharjan (Tyakha baha resident)
  • Miss Talent Sabina Maharjan (Lainchour resident)
  • Miss Agricultural Rojina Dangol
  • Miss Nepal Bhasa Kalpana Maharjan
  • Miss Traditional Food Alisha Maharjan
  • Miss Cultural Amina Prajapati
  • Miss Discipline Rojita Maharjan
  • Miss Photogenic Pooja Maharjan
  • Miss Smile Roshani Maharjan
  • Miss friendship Surjuna Maharjan
  • Miss Best Popularity Shanta Dangol
  • Miss Viewer’s Choice Bidhya Laxmi Maharjan

Group photo of the participants of Miss Jyapu 2012:


Who are Jyapu ?

Jyapu is one of various Newari communities, divided according to the task assigned to them. Jyapu are basically the agricultural community who are landowners and food suppliers. Jyapu people have various surnames like Suwal, Singh, Dangol, Maharjan, Prajapati, Awale , Munikar, Kisan etc.

Miss Jyapu background

The 2012 edition of Miss Jyapu was the first such beauty contest in Jyapu community.

Miss Jyapu is a beauty contest held amongst the young girls of Jyapu community aged between 17 to 24 years. Minimum height of the contestant is set at 5feet and the minimum education required was SLC pass. The beauty contest is held to promote Jyapu culture, values and tradition. The winner of the contest is assigned to be the ambassador of the 9th Rastriya Jyapu Divas, 2069.

The title winner was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 25,000, first runner-up received Rs. 15,000 and the second runner-up received Rs. 10,000 cash prize. In addition to top three titles, Miss Talent was also awarded Rs. 5,000 cash prize.

Miss Jyapu was previously scheduled to be organized on March 17 but, in response to the requests of some of the prospective participants, the event was delayed to June. (Photo and information credit – Miss Jyapu organizers)


One thought on “Sabina Maharjan is Miss Jyapu 2012

  1. thanx for postin about miss jyapu the title winner Miss Jyapu 2012 Sabina Maharjan is Lainchour resident ..1st runner up is nardevi resident. hope mistake will be correcgted. thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *